Uncategorized

ephemerality of love.

 

Love is a diamond

love is a diamond

beautiful and forever

like my love for you

love is 

Death 

Your smile hits my heart

like a bullet to the brain

i’m crazy for you

a sliver 

Love or death

shadows of lovers

turn to ash towards love’s embrace

silence falls away

embracing

Time

dust glides softly still

autumn rain hovers above

years pass silently

the past wonder 

Curious

pursuit of wonder

forgotten above the sky

ending in autumn

searching for 

City Dusk 

i was sick for dark

all the faces blend to yours

come out , out for me

River

flowing down into

a deep underground basin

filling it right up

place where

Water Doesn’t Stop Us

path runs swift and just

quiet swish on the ‘morrow

flourish in a pond

we live as one 

Rejuvenation

cleansing afterlife

fragrant scents through sands of time

water flows wicked

soon a 

Storm

you kissed her in the rain

out in the storm

and you didn’t realize

that the rain was my tears

and the thunder was

my heart breaking.

haunting

Acrophobia 

he wants  to say i love you

but keeps it to goodnight

because love will mean some falling

and she’s afraid of heights  

full of 

 

Why

after all this time

i haven’t been alright

since we said goodbye

 the pain of 

Nightmares

silent screams

and broken  dreams

haunt my soul,

sadly, that makes me

whole

an ending 

Aware

stay away

from people

who make you feel

like you’re hard to

love

this is love.

 

Dear whomever is reading this,

This piece originally started as a collection of flash poetry in my journal; however, as I continued to write poetry (specifically haiku) my affinity towards poetry grew. I found myself creating haiku and flash poetry and before I knew it, I had over 20 scattered throughout my creative writing journal and my diary. This piece is a collection of, what I think, is my best. It starts with haiku and then moves into flash poetry at the end. Personally, I believe that haiku is the most beautiful and minimalist form of poetry which is why I chose to include some of my haiku. I also titled this piece “Ephemerality of Love” because I found that a lot of my pieces were speaking to the concept of love and time and because my blog name is “Ephemeral Love” I thought that the title was fitting. From the deepest crevice of my heart, I hope you enjoy this piece.

All the love,

The Girl with the Endless Daydream.

4 comments

  1. Dear Victoria,

    This was a really interesting piece and the format is obviously one that is out of the ordinary, which I enjoyed. It added to the concept of love sometimes being brief, something that is there one minute, transitioning from one thing to another. Your exploration of how brief love is, is something that I’ve never seen before. The way you compared love to autumn, a season, or the rain, that comes and leaves briefly, was beautiful. My favorite section were the lines, “he wants to say i love you / but keeps it to goodnight / because love will mean some falling / and she’s afraid of heights”. The way you put your words together is amazing.

    Sincerely,
    Carolin

    1. Dear Carolin,

      Thank you so very much for such the nice comment! I never really realized that I was comparing love to the seasons – oops! Thanks for pointing that out 🙂

      Kind Regards,
      Victoria

  2. Dear Victoria:

    This piece was written so unusually but worked so beautifully. I loved how I got a sense of flash poetry but there was consistency throughout. I cant get over the part titled, “Acrophobia” because it just sounds pretty. I don’t usually think about diction choices but here I couldn’t help but do so. Usually, rhyming sounds planned and ineffective but you used it so perfectly.

    I love your piece and I look forward to reading more.

    Love,
    Harmehar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>